News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

1957 Ford Del Rio Rock'n'Roll Ranchwagon

Started by djfordmanjack, 2014-04-09 15:48

Previous topic - Next topic

djfordmanjack

Hello to everybody on 57 Fords International !
My name is Guenter, 40 yrs old and I am from Austria, Europe. I found your cool forum while surfing the HAMB and I am glad to be here and share our common interest.
I?d like to introduce myself a little: I have been wrenching on American cars for 20 yrs now and among others I just love and have owned a lot of Fomocos from the 20s to late 60s. It was about  1997 when I was originally looking for a 1955 Victoria Coupe, when I first saw a 57 (Courier Delivery sedan) in the flesh and I immediately fell in love for the big taillights, perfect fins , smooth hood and the giant wraparound windshield. 2 yrs later I was able to buy the Courier and had it for about 5 yrs, adding a lot of miles and beautiful summer holiday and RocknRoll  festival trips. At that time I got my nickname DJ Fordman Jack, I guess you all know my big idol, the Wolfman.
Even while I had the Courier I always wanted a Del Rio and after selling the Courier I just kept thinking about the 57 again and again, started collecting old ads and after  full 2 yrs of searching I finally found my Del Rio on the Yuma Craigslist in Jan, 2013. A decision was made to pick up the car in person with some of my friends in Az and drive it to Cal and the LA based shipping company.
The Del Rio is now in the middle of old Europe and awaiting a full frame off resto. Here it is at my place in Graz, Austria

Just a few hundred yards away at my friends place and his 57 Sierra D500 wagon:

With another friend?s 57 Oldsmobile Wagon

This is me  :003: :

I have a lot of other pics and if you are interested I will post some more of the wagon?s journey.
Regards G?nter

hiball3985