News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

new Del Rio project

Started by billd5string, 2015-11-02 15:41

Previous topic - Next topic

billd5string

So I have bought my first 57 Ford. I've got a lot of experience with hot rod projects, mostly GM cars and trucks from the 60's and early 70's. My current project is a 67 Cougar, which will be winding down over the next months. I heard about this car that was in a neighbors backyard, posted about it here for advice, and then bought it.

So now I have a bit more information about it. It is not a survivor car, like it initially looked like. The previous owner spent a lot of money on restoring it over the 42 years he owned it, the last big spend occurring in 87 and 88. The car was parked in 93 with the body done, and fairly new paint, but the interior was worn out and based on documentation that came with the car, the engine and trans are worn out as well.

I'm a hot-rodder, all the way - but personally to me, the idea of messing with an original stock car that is nearly 60 years old and all original... that idea makes me sick. So my plan was to carefully restore it (a project style I haven't done before). But now, I know the motor may not be able to come back without a full rebuild, and the transmission may be in the same state. According to a letter from a restoration shop in 87, they both were just plain worn out. There isn't any receipts or other docs in the file to indicate that either was replaced or rebuilt - and the letter says the motor was already bored 60 over from some previous rebuild.

The body appears real solid, the floorboards appear in great condition (no carpet there to cover anything up). Only the hood appears to have some rust issues under the paint, and the front bumper is a rusty mess.