News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

My new favourite place to visit........

Started by Limey57, 2017-07-28 09:16

Previous topic - Next topic

Limey57

...........or so it seems!  Having a 2.0 litre turbo-diesel as a daily driver I'm not used to dropping in here as often as I do now!

Still shaking down the Ranchero but to be honest, I can't stop driving it for long enough to iron out the bugs!  Known issues so far:

Front oil seal leaking (badly) on the differential.  You know what?  There was only ONE item I didn't touch when rebuilding the back axle............  In my defence I thought the previous owner had done it, I have since found the new oil seal in a box.  Ooops.  Then I need to clean the oil off that it's sprayed over the underside of my nice shiny floor!

Speedo needle isn't stable, I estimate my speed to be around 30mph and it shows between 20 and 40!  Might just need some lube?

Still getting hot.  But not as bad as it was, I'm going to keep at it and see if it's just because the engine's tight after the rebuild.

Front brakes aren't as effective as I'd like.  Again, I'm going to give it a few miles to see if they bed-in.

Tracking needs setting at the front as it doesn't "feel right" in a straight line.

Gear shift linkage needs modifying.  There isn't much in between shifting from P to R to N to D etc.  I need to lengthen the shift lever on the side of the transmission, at the minute I think I've shifted into reverse but I've gone all the way to neutral.

Front end just seems too soft.  It's got Aerostar springs and new shocks (with all new bushes etc), but it just seems to be too "wallowy".