News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Battery question

Started by JimNolan, 2016-01-11 14:25

Previous topic - Next topic

JimNolan

Guys, I need some help here.
I've bought 29N Power Punch Batteries from Antique Auto Battery in Ohio and I've bought the Optima filled 29N Battery from Restoration Batteries. Neither one of those were any good and they tested at 350 CCA when they were new. Big disappointment. My Napa Battery I've been running since 2010 failed to start the car a couple days ago and before I get another one that is way too small for the battery tray I thought I'd check with you guys. Difference in 29N and 27 is the 29 is 5.5" wide and the 27 is 6.8" wide.
Have any of you used a group 27 battery and did it fit the Battery Tray. Walmart has a group 27 that has 800+ CCA rating.
If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.

JPotter57

Not sure, Jim, but it will fit mine.  I am not putting the battery in the trunk on this one, but I will modify my tray to fit a wider battery if needed.  My tray is missing, though the rear brace is there.  I was planning on fabricating one for a 29, but if the 27 fits with a little more work, I'd rather have the amps...Thanks..
1957 Ford Custom 427 2x4 4 spd
Old, loud, and fast.

JimNolan

James,
I took the 24FN battery out of the car just now and measured it. They list a 24FN battery as having a width of 6.8" and a length of 10.3". To get this battery in the tray I flattened the fender side bottom tray rail. That allowed the extra width for the 24FN battery. Worked good. The original battery (29N) was only 5.5" wide.
Now, due to the front sheet metal on the radiator support. You can only get a 12.1" long battery in it. The original 29N battery was 5.5" wide X 13" long and missed that sheet metal on the radiator support.