News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Ranchero Bed Stainless Trim & Tilt Column

Started by KYBlueOval, 2014-12-01 12:33

Previous topic - Next topic

KYBlueOval

I found someone that has a piece of the stainless steel trim that mounts on the top of the truck bed sides, but since I'm brand new to Rancheros, I haven't a clue as to what I should pay. The piece  is the curved section , on the right hand side , that goes up against the stainless piece on the tailgate. There is a similar piece on the left side, but he has only the right. The piece is in reasonably good shape.The usual scratches, minor dents, no "Extra holes". What is a fair price for such a piece?

I'm looking for advise on what year and applications,  of tilt steering columns, with or without the shifter,  that have been used on '57 Fords? I'd like to retain the original steering wheel, or a smaller version of the original wheel. What have ya'll done/used?
Thanks
John

JimNolan

I don't exactly know which piece your talking about but I tried to sell the paint breaks (stainless pieces that separate the two tone paint at the tailgate) but no one wanted them. I'd think it couldn't be worth an arm and leg. If he doesn't have the other side it's almost as bad as not having either. Jim
If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.

KYBlueOval

Jim, I'll try to better describe the piece . If you are at the rear of the Ranchero, looking towards the front of the vehicle, the ribbed stainless steel is attached at the top of rear quarter panels, as the stainless comes back towards the tailgate, it turns toward the tailgate. The piece I'm referring to is the curved piece, that is located on the top of the right quarter panel, just above the right tail light.
He only has the one piece. I'm fine with getting just one piece, just don't know what it is worth. Got any idea?