went power steering using the Borgeson conversion, now need set up help.

Started by DrDragon, 2019-04-03 13:50

Previous topic - Next topic

DrDragon

There's no room for the Z-bar with the bigger Borgeson power steering box. I don't see a need for hydraulic clutch but how about cable like a 90 mustang?
Anyone go this route? What pedal assembly to use? fork? This is for a 390 with T10.

lalessi1

A hydraulic set up can be had relatively easily. I am using a set up that I am not really happy with so I am in the "redesign phase" now. I have a hydraulic throw out bearing and a McLeod early Mustang Hydraulic conversion kit. Pricey and a PITA! Wilwood makes an inexpensive .75" master and they also make a PULL type slave cylinder. Easy to install and fairly cheap. If you are interested in that type of set up I can help with the details. My understanding is that cable actuated clutches are prone to fail and are limited to smaller clutches, but I have no experience with them so that may not be true. Factory pedal assembly, fork and pedal and throw out bearing can be used with a hydraulic arrangement as I envision it now.
Lynn

rar1947

I?m running an FE with a manual trans (4 speed toploader imposter) and modified the Z bar slightly to clear. I have log style manifolds so you may have more clearance issues with headers. What headers are you running?  Not sure if it worked but I tried to post a link to the thread that talks about my z bar modification.

http://57fordsforever.com/smf/index.php?topic=5833.0

DrDragon

The headers are from FPA out of Washington. I reworked the z bar and I now have clearance. The only issue is the clutch return spring is riding on the set up and won't work over time. That's a small issue I hope. As far as a cable set up I used one for years in a 90 Mustang with a built 5.0 and TKO with no problems. I'm thinking of going with that TKO in this car so the pedal quadrant would be the issue there I would think.

lalessi1