News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

T-5 in 57 Ranchero ---Which Rearend Ratio.

Started by kens65fb, 2009-04-03 09:02

Previous topic - Next topic

kens65fb

I just picked up a very nice  World Class T-5 trans for my Ranchero project.
The trans has the 3.35 first gear, as do most t-5 transmissions.
I checked out the rear-end presently in my car,  and the tag reads 3.70
How will this combo work?? ---Will I need to go to a different ratio ?
This vehicle will see no track time, but I am an aggressive street driver.
Thanks

shopratwoody

Sounds like a good ratio to me. Should work good.
I hate blocksanding!

Frankenstein57

That is my choice with a 351 W, and a t-5.  You may want to read recent posts on trans swaps, ect. If you have the stock bench seat, you won't clear the shifter with a mustang trans. I ran into tunnel clearance problems too. good luck, Mark

57AGIN

Kens65fb:

The 351W, with a 3:70 rear end gear is a great combo.  I just wish I had the overdrive gear you have in your T-5 in my T-10 to get my 57 (with a T10) around using a lot less gas on the freeway trips to shows, etc.  That trans & rear end ratio in first gear is like mine would be if I had a set of 4:30's in the rear.  A very strong combo off the line, with good pull through the lower gears.

Bob
57AGIN

57Cust300

I have just installed a T5 with a 3:70 gear. With the 3.35 first gear 1st gear is almost useless.
My plan is to go to a 2.95 1st and to a 3.55 rear. If you are into drag racing, go with the 3.70
but IMHO the 3.70 is a bit much on the street (especially 1st gear).

57AGIN

57Cust300: