News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Evapo-Rust

Started by lalessi1, 2015-03-30 06:38

Previous topic - Next topic

Jeff Norwell

Bought some tonight.
"Don't get Scared now little Fella"

1957 Ford Custom-428-4 speed
1957 Ford Custom 300-410-4 speed

http://www.norwell-equipped.com

LAUDY57

Another way for removing rust is electroysis, lots of vids on Youtube
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=removing+rust+with+electrolysis

I saw an old link several years ago and the only limiting factor for size of object was the size of the container to hold it. Usually the chemicals used can be bought at a pool supply place and are quite cheap, you do need DC power however from a big charger or welder.
"That Guy" keeps stealing everything I put down!

Limey57

I've been restoring old cars for nearly 28 years now and I've seen various "rust-gone" products come & go over the years, but for me sand blasting is still the most effective way, followed by an epoxy primer.  Drill mounted wire brushes (the cheap ones) just bend the tips and actually polish the rust rather than remove it.  Some of the rust-convertor products work okay but don't take some paint systems over the top very well.  One product I have used that does leave metal sand-blast clean is made by Bilt-Hamber (German I think) and is called De-Ox gel and has a thick consistancy, you spread it onto a panel and cover with polythene to prevent it drying out and leave it for 24 hours.  When you scrape it off (it can be re-used) the metal looks like it's been blasted clean and it leaves no residue.
Gary

1957 Ranchero

djfordmanjack

Quote from: Limey57 on 2015-03-31 02:44
Drill mounted wire brushes (the cheap ones) just bend the tips and actually polish the rust rather than remove it.