News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

351 engine swap

Started by rlibew, 2012-04-23 16:37

Previous topic - Next topic

rlibew

Hi I'm new at this 57 hot rod Hobie, but very interested in completing my 1957 ford fairlane 500 hard top. My plan is a 351 w engine a AOD trans 4 wheel discs brakes AC and getting as much tire under the rear as I can.

I see a lot of adds for 302 and 302 strokers, but I want a 351 w engine as I don't want a another 302 in my engine bay. The problem is finding a crate engine for my project. Time and time again I'm given friendly advise to go with the 347 strocker or a 460 engine. Have any of you guys had success with this swap and do you have a recommendation on a builder.

I also need info on AOD trans as I hear these transmission can be problematic if not set up correctly. Any advise on this install would be greatly appreciated as I'm new at this and I limited on sources for the project

I also need info on how to get 275-15 under the rear wheel wells, I've considering narrowing the rear axle or mini tub, but don't want to get radical on this, but do want some tire tread under this car. I have 3.50 gears and posi so the AOD should work well with my plan combo, think.

please any info at a will be appreciated. 

gasman826

Welcome.  Probably the first thing to do is hit the HOME button, move over to the SEARCH box and type in 351W and the GO button.  Read all those hits and you will have a bunch of questions about 351W answered.
Then hit the HOME button again, move to the SEARCH box and type in AOD then the GO button.  You'll see plenty of feedback on transmission recommendations.
This will give you a great starter course.

RICH MUISE