90 amp flux wire welder from HF for floors and first welder for my car?

Started by Custom300Madman, 2012-07-21 16:11

Previous topic - Next topic

Custom300Madman

http://www.harborfreight.com/welders-buying-guide.html

would any of these work for the floors on my 57 four door car? maybe exhaust hangers, headers or exhaust pipe and a first welder? I don't have 220 in the garage and I'm  a noob newbie with the welding. Since my broken leg I'm just shopping around for tools to get her on the road..
1957 Ford Custom 300 Fourdoor, with factory 312 yblock

RICH MUISE

A 220 would serve the purpose better...I'd consider setting up your garage with 220 especially if the main box isn't too far from the garage. I set mine up with 220..works much better for the welding, the air conditioner/heater, and the air compressor. (all houses have 220 running to the main box).
As far as a flux welder, I'd definetly spend the extra bucks for a model that can be set up both ways...probably more important than the 110 vs. 220 if your just going to be welding thin stuff. I was a newbie..and still not very good...when I bought mine and was having a hell of a time trying to weld anything with it set up on the flux core. I finally bit the bullet and bought a gas tank and switched the welder over to gas. The difference was amazing. The HF units will get the job done..of course not as well as a Miller or Lincoln...but definetly forget the HF wire. Lincoln wire can be had at home depot or Lowe's.
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

Custom300Madman

We rent, so that wouldn't work. But If I owned the house I would so do it!
1957 Ford Custom 300 Fourdoor, with factory 312 yblock

geraldchainsaw