News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

stainless restoration

Started by RICH MUISE, 2011-03-16 07:41

Previous topic - Next topic

RICH MUISE

One of the members asked me offline what I had used for polishing stainless, and I thought I'd share what I had experienced. I am by no means an expert on the subject, and guys that do this for a living probably have much more efficient methods, but this is a definetly something anyone with a lot of time and patience can do with oustanding results, and for a minimal investment in materials. For about 150.-200 or so you can set youself up with a nice bench buffer and all the buffs and polishing compounds. This is about what it would cost to farm out about 4 or 5 feet of trim. This is going to be a long article, so I'll do it in sections. The process is time consuming, you can probably figure about 2 hours per foot of trim, so get a comfortable stool, put a movie on your shop t.v., and get some old towels to cover your workbench (you'll be using lots of water).
The stainless on our trim is only about .023 thick, so even with the stainless being a tough material, it dents easily. Deep scratches will be a problem as you can't remove too much material without the trim getting too thin. The windshield trim is probably going to be your toughest challenge because it faces the front of the car and, if it's like mine, had so many pits I had to remove a few thousands of material off virtually the entire surface. You may want to start with the back window trim or a side piece. to get your feet wet.Hopefully your trim will be in reasonably good shape to start with. If it has major dents and distortions, you may want to look for replacements.