News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Pertronix Electronic Ignition Help

Started by rxsuperhero, 2010-02-17 21:05

Previous topic - Next topic

rxsuperhero

FYI, I am a novice and trying to run a 312 v8 57 ford fairlane 500

I recently installed the Pertronix electronic ignition with an updated pertronix coil and removed the ballast resistor per new-coil recommendations.  I am not sure if I need to keep the ballast resistor in place.  Actually, I am not having as much success with the new ignition update as I thought I would (no strong spark when testing the wires with a screwdriver against a ground).  I have read many posts that give different wiring scenarios but I'm still lost.   Any tips would help. 

johnny

JimNolan

Hero,
   The Pertronix doesn't use a ballast resistor. A Mallory Unilite does. First check to make sure you're getting 13.5 volts minimum to the plus side of you're coil when the engine is running. These Pertronix units needs about 13.5 Volts to run right ( best of my recollection ). If you don't have 13.5 volts check you're ground cable from the battery to make sure it's good. If you have voltage check you're Pertronix coil to see if you've got the right one. One has a high resistance and one has a low resistance. The instructions should say something about which coil to get. I had to send mine back because I got the wrong one. It sounds like you've got the wrong coil. Just use an ohmmeter to check from the + and - terminals. If the pertronix unit will fire the engine up that means it's working. The amount of spark you get to the spark plug is a result of the coil. The Pertronix Unit just takes the place of the points and condenser. Theoretically the pertronix unit could have an impact on the quality of coil collapse but in your case it sounds like you've got the wrong coil. Jim
If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.

JPotter57