News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

moulding in a fiberglass hood scoop

Started by RICH MUISE, 2010-09-29 09:05

Previous topic - Next topic

RICH MUISE

I am puting a wide, low profile cowl induction scoop on my 'custom.I decided against trying to do a steel scoop welded on so I picked up a ford oem fiberglass hood scoop from a '83 mustang GT. I've never used one before, so I need some advise on the right way to mold it in. After removing all the layers of paint I removed the 7 old rusty mounting studs and replaced them with new s.s. ones I epoxied in. I then bolted it to the bare hood using a generous amount of 2 part epoxy around the perimeter of the scoop. I followed with some evercoat kitty hair (similar to body filler but with fiberglass strands) around the perifery to give a solid base to the fiberglass cloth/resin I'll be using next. I rough shaped the kitty hair with some 80 grit paper on a length of 1" plastic pipe to blend it to the hood.
I know I need to start with narrower bands of fiberglass cloth/resin and overlap sucessive layers with wider strips but what I don't know is how many layers I need to do to minimize chances of cracking. Anybody out there done this before? Am I doing this right or do you have any other suggestions thanks Rich
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

Zapato