News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Wagon rear slider to one piece.

Started by landon_king, 2007-05-01 19:02

Previous topic - Next topic

landon_king

I was wondering if anyone out there has done this mod before. I am wanting to replace the rear sliding windows on my 2dr wagon with a one piece glass. I have seen this done but only in pictures. I have not seen how the channel in the metal was fixed at the top and bottom. If anybody may have any tips or ideas I would greatly appreciate it. BTW, I'm the newbie and if you would like to know more about me I have posted in the General Discussion under Newbie Here. Thanks

wolfpupsdad

I'VE NEVER SEEN OR HEARD OF THAT BEING DONE BEFORE , SOUNDS KINDA KOOL THO. I TO HAVE A RANCHWAGON. LETS HEAR FROM SOME OF THE OLD TIMERS.

meteor

There is a local car, customized wagon with that mod - beautiful car. I just bought a Ranch Wagon and don't even have the car yet. I'm curious, what is the reason for wanting to get rid of the slider in favour of one piece of glass? Are there issues with the slider ie. rattles, leaks, doesn't close/open, screwy latch mechanism or is it just personal taste and purely aesthetic?

Not being a jackass, I just don't have my car yet (read: I have no experience with a sliding window) but I think its cool.
check out my site: www.brightworkautoart.com

wolfpupsdad

theres nothing wrong with the design of the sliding glass in the ranch wagon , i've got one and it doesn't leak or rattle, i think you'll really enjoy it when ya get it home. a one piece side window sounds kinda cool to me, but then here in georgia ya needs all the air conditioning ya can get in the summer , it was 81 degrees today and about 85% humidity.

RAWms

Here is one of my favorites.  The "look" is what I'm striving for on the Ranchero.

Time working or driving your ride is NOT subtracted from your life clock.

...as of Apr 2007

wolfpupsdad