News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Heating prblems with 428 cj engine

Started by hd99fxr3, 2019-06-16 11:35

Previous topic - Next topic

hiball3985

Lynn I wish I had all the answers but cooling is rocket science and I'm just an old shade tree mechanic  :005: Last year I went through a similar situation helping a friend with a 55 Tbird last summer that would heat at slow speed stop and go around town and after he added a aluminum radiator and electric fan it helped but then would heat at freeway speeds. We figured the electric fan mounting plate was blocking about 40% of the air flow so we did 4 holes with the rubber flaps and that helped some what but it was still running warmer then we wanted. We then switched from a 160 thermostat to the 180 and found the system could maintain 180 better then it could 160. Before we started this he had also but on a smaller pump pulley trying to increase flow, we put the larger pulley back on thinking it could possibly be circulating the coolant faster then the radiator could cool it, that also helped but by this time it was going into fall and the ambient temps had dropped quite a bit. We have only just know starting to get warmer temps and he hasn't had it out yet.
I'm not sure an oil cooler would help, good for keeping internal friction temps down on hipo engines but doubt it would help water temp. Timing is also an issue that will effect it, not enough advance can cause heating but I understand the pinging issue. It's really hard these days to run hipo motors on the crap fuels we have.
JIM:
HAPPY HOUR FOR ME IS A GOOD NAP
The universe is made up of electrons, protons, neutrons and morons.
1957 Ranchero
1960 F100 Panel
1966 Mustang

Jeff Norwell