News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

soft brake pedal

Started by 57imposter, 2020-03-30 11:02

Previous topic - Next topic

57imposter

I have been fighting a soft brake pedal for a couple years. The car stops fine but the pedal is troubling. Since I have lots of free time, these days, I put it up and ran over everything with my vacuum bleeder. The right front caliper seems to be gulping air. Checked the entire system and every joint is bone dry. Next logical step is Google. Turns out a guy had the exact same issue on one of the boards and he got an answer from someone that makes sense. He said he is pulling air past the piston seal. When the brakes are applied, the fluid forces the seal out and prevents a leak but when the piston relaxes, if there is even a small defect it will allow air to pass. I have never experienced anything like this but I have two fresh calipers coming that should be here tomorrow. We'll see.

John Palmer

Yes, it can be frustrating. 

I would not over look checking the rubber flex lines.  The last time I fought a brake problem it was a hose that the rubber rotted "on the inside" and prevented the brake from fully retracting causing it to drag and it also had the spongy pedal feel.  Four new hoses (it was on a swing axle VW) and all was fine again. 

The quality of any replacement parts purchased today is questionable.  The ethanol added to today's gasoline causes lots of problems in our old collector cars. 

57imposter

Thanks, I have braided stainless lines so I'm pretty sure their ok. I have two fresh calipers ready to go on, as soon as I get a descent day. My hoist is outside and I am WAY past crawling around on the floor

mustang6984

I have a buddy in Richland...he would be happy to crawl around on the floor!   :003:
Nothing is impossible...
The word it's self says I'M POSSIBLE  (Audrey Hepburn)
2 '57 Ford Couriers AND '57 Fairlane