News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

AC Compressor Internal workings question

Started by KYBlueOval, 2022-06-28 04:51

Previous topic - Next topic

KYBlueOval

I have ZERO knowledge regarding the internal design, function etc. of a AC Compressor, so I turn to the Forum , in hopes that someone can educate me and answer my question.
My Ranchero has a 351W engine from a '95 F-150, if it matters. I'm using the Ford factory bracket that mounts the AC Compressor and the PS Pump.
The AC Compressor I'm using is a 4 Seasons 58581. The mounting configuration for this compressor is such that it will only mount in one position.

With the compressor on my workbench, the two ports (when looking at the compressor from the front) , are pointing at approximately 9 O'clock.
When the compressor is installed, the Discharge port points to approximately a low, 10 O'clock, and the Suction port points to approximately 11 O'clock
Connecting 90* elbows has these two hoses pointing in a strange upward direction, that looks odd and I believe will result in interference with the hood,when closed. I should add, that the hoses will be going to the driver side inner fender.
Having said all of that here is the question. Can the Compressor Back Plate, that has the two ports,be removed and clocked,in a clockwise direction, so that the two ports are facing towards the driver side inner fender?
I've spoken with Vintage Air and they can custom build two hard lines that MIGHT solve the problem, or I can purchase from V.A. some aluminum tube and try bending my own. But clocking the back of the compressor,IF doable,would make life easier.
So, can the back plate be removed and rotated?
Thanks.
John

lalessi1