So if you could build the perfect 292 for touring/towing what would it be?

Started by Roothawg, 2011-05-03 12:14

Previous topic - Next topic

Roothawg

My wife wants to venture out next summer on a cross country tour in the 57 Ford wagon.  The problem is, the 292 is tired and I worry about being stranded in Hobbs, New Mexico, trying to find Yblock parts.  We are currently seeking a vintage camper to tow as well. Most of it's life will be spent between 25-65 mph. Thinking of swapping over to the C4 at the same time.

So build your ideal touring/towing 292.  I am a Y block newbie.

Thanks

suede57ford

The Y-BlocksForever Forum is packed with info on how to make a great running Y Block.  Check it out.

The 292 is great engine and very reliable.  With modern machine work and all the info on how to make it reliable, you could trust one to go anywhere.

The old saying that an engine does not know what name is on the valve cover is true.   A well built Y-block can go anywhere a similar built 302 would.  The general engine will last well. The carb, trans, pulleys, brackets, and those items that determine the reliability of any engine, as long as it is properly built and maintained.

Mine has never left me stranded anywhere in the country.  As long as I stay away from drag strips it lasts well.

Carry an extra carb kit, and ignition module and you should have no issues.

By the way if it breaks in Hobbs, NM call me as I only live an hour and a half away.

57 2dr Sedan, Black,VR57 Supercharged Y-block
57 T-bird, 460 C6
57 Ranchwagon, 5.0 AOD
57 Ranchero, VR57 Supercharged
57 Courier Delivery, 460 C6
57 2dr Sedan, Red/White
69 Mach1 428 R-Code
69 Talladega 428
69 Bronco 5.0
70 Torino Cobra SCJ 4spd,4:30 Drag Pak
34 Ford P.U. 427 Ford, 2-4s
69 Boss 429

shopratwoody

I hate blocksanding!

Roothawg