News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

a/c brackets

Started by Ron, 2014-09-12 10:41

Previous topic - Next topic

Ron

Does anyone know of an after-market source for the bracket (s) I'll need to mount an a/c condenser on the 292 ci Y block in my '57 Ranch Wagon?  I'm hoping to be able to mount it low rather than high on the block and I'm just beginning to research the whole project.  Thanks, Ron.

bossguy

You might try Tim McMaster, he's on Facebook as "The Y Block Guy".

Ron

Bossguy--Thanks.  I don't do Facebook, but I have a friend who does.  I'll ask her to check it out for me.  Ron

gasman826

Unless someone has gotten really busy in the last couple of years, you are on your own to fabricate brackets and pulleys.  I've been watching for a two or three groove crank pulley, PS brackets and AC brackets.  PS brackets come along from time to time but AC brackets are few and far between.  The AC bracket would be pricey and then require modification to fit a modern pump.  Even when I put Vintage Air in mine, sourcing brackets for the 460 was disappointing.  The choice is factory, fabricate or serpentine aftermarket pulleys and brackets.  The factory 460 brackets were for York/Tecumseh pumps or Frigidaire.  Vintage Air makes an adopter for Sanden pumps to YT brackets.  But this puts the pump high on the engine.  Vintage Air also offers universal brackets for Sanden pumps but you fab it to your engine.  I'm considering Vintage Air for the Ranch Wagon and I am prepared to make brackets for the 292 to the Sanden pump.  I'll probably mill off the front of the 292 crank pulley and add some pulleys.  If you find brackets and pulleys, I'm all ears!

VwDrvFnd

I have a rust hole in my passanger side inner fender well, It's 58 years old what do you expect?

Ford Blue blood