News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

What holes in the Firewall can I weld up?

Started by KYBlueOval, 2017-02-16 19:01

Previous topic - Next topic

KYBlueOval

The Ranchero I'm building was brought home in boxes. It was 95% disassembled, therefore I have no first hand knowledge as to  what the various holes are for, and which firewall holes can be eliminated. I'm hoping some of them can be welded up. I've got a Vintage Air system, so the heater and heater blower motor holes will be filled . Is there a photo or drawing that shows what the various holes are for?
What is your advice?
Thanks
John

Ford Blue blood

Just weld them all up as I did then make new ones as needed.  There are a couple of fire wall shots in my build thread. Plan down the road on what you envision the final product to look like.  I wanted mine to be as clean as possible while still having an ability to do routine maintenance on the various systems.
Certfied Ford nut, Bill
2016 F150 XLT Sport
2016 Focus (wife's car)
2008 Shelby GT500
57 Ranchero
36 Chevy 351C/FMX/8"/M II

Jeff Norwell

Here is a clean shot of a firewall.... as Bill noted. you can weld all up and make new ones....
"Don't get Scared now little Fella"

1957 Ford Custom-428-4 speed
1957 Ford Custom 300-410-4 speed

http://www.norwell-equipped.com

Ecode70D

Jeff
     If it were me, I would go by the picture that you posted, because in my mind I don't see any extra
holes.
      Certainly someone else will chime in and confirm this.
       This is a great site.
J>>>-------> 

Ford Blue blood

Or like this....
Certfied Ford nut, Bill
2016 F150 XLT Sport
2016 Focus (wife's car)
2008 Shelby GT500
57 Ranchero
36 Chevy 351C/FMX/8"/M II

gasman826