News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Hood clearence?

Started by fordaholic, 2011-03-01 22:16

Previous topic - Next topic

fordaholic

:I am hopeing someone can give me some specifics on a  previousley asked question. I am hopeing to get a 427 2-4 mediumriser under the stock untouched hood. Others have said they have done it. My questions are: did you use stock motor mounts or did you drop the motor slightly? What height filter will I have to use? I really want to use a 3" Filter. I would appreciate any advice on this since I am about to sort out the header situation and don`t want to find out later that I have to relocate the motor height. I have the front clip off the car , so there is no way of checking clearence. I am new to 57`s but we`re learning quick thanks to all you guys on this great site. With your help another 70D is going to be saved.     thanks   Gary

Bubba

What I can tell you is that if you use a large single element aircleaner and not two separate smaller aircleaners you will have a clearance problem with the firewall mounted hood latch. There is, however a way around that problem, if you use offset mounting studs for the aircleaner, it will move the aircleaner far enough forward to clear the hood latch.  I am also interested in the answer on hood height clearance, as i am considering using a medium riser 2x4 set up on my 428CJ engine.  I've been told there "should" be enough clearance but would like to get a confirmation from someone who's "Been There, Done That"
Welcome to the 57 Brotherhood!!
BuBBa

shopratwoody

With the low riser I just trimmed the the base to clear the hood latch
if I remember correctly. Removed hood latch and ran hood pins for
a long time. With the M/R Tunnel Wedge I had foam between the
bottom of the air cleaner and the scoop. Seems like there was clearance
though. Used 58 type fe mounts.
I hate blocksanding!

Bubba