News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Manual brakes

Started by BAMA_57, 2011-03-03 19:17

Previous topic - Next topic

BAMA_57

I want to upgrade my master cylinder, can anyone advise me on which one to use? I'm not going to front disks just yet but will in the future, I just want the front and read divided at this point. I have a new master cylinder from a mustang I found in the shop, will it work? Will I need to run all new lines?
Thanks.
Ron
'57 Fairlane 500
'69 Boss 302 Mustang
'70 Boss 302 Mustang
'77 F-100 Explorer

alvin stadel

I'v used dual master cylinders for 67 fairlanes, I have them on 2 of my cars, they'll bolt right on. I'm sure there are others that well work also. take care, Alvin

wv 57s forever

you will need to split the front and rear.

wv 57s forever

what i mean is you will need proportion valve

:deadhorse:

BAMA_57

Thanks - I looked on Autozone's website and the Mustang and Fairlane show different part numbers so I will get the Fairlane part.
The proportioning valve can split the front and rear lines and then be adjusted, right?
'57 Fairlane 500
'69 Boss 302 Mustang
'70 Boss 302 Mustang
'77 F-100 Explorer

Ford Blue blood

No....but one for a like late model (Granada for example) will give very close if not right on proportioning.  The important part of that device is the little piston inside it that slides to the part, (front or rear), of the brake system that has failed.  That piston turns on the brake idiot light on the dash of the later model cars but most importantly it shuts off the leak and allows the fuctioning part to continue to function.  Can't stress this too much.  With out that proportioning block all you have is a single master cylinder with two outputs.