News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Is this true???

Started by 05gt, 2013-02-12 21:48

Previous topic - Next topic

05gt

So i'm looking into this whole brake swap idea aagain, when I came across this kit on ebay. (Basically the same thing as Scarebired)

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1957-1958-1959-FORD-FAIRLANE-GALAXIE-CUSTOM-FRONT-DISC-BRAKES-/200892094311?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2ec61a1767&vxp=mtr

So I emailed the seller as he states it just bolts right on, and he said that this kit does not require a porportionign valvce or dual master cylinder, although some people do add these items. I currently have manual brakes all teh way around, and don't mind keeping them that way, but is it true from your experience that you can run a kit like this and just basically just hook it up at the wheels to your exsisting hardlines? I have zero experience with doing new hardlines, so I'm just looking for the easiest sollution while keeping as much stock as possible. I also found this kit, which includes everything you supposedly need, minus the lines.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1957-1964-FORD-FULLSIZE-GALAXIE-FRONT-DISC-BRAKE-CONVERSION-/330786479464?pt=Vintage_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item4d04691d68&vxp=mtr

But once agian, the less I have to dig into, the happier I'll be. Would be nice to be able to switch it back easily one day if the reason ever arose. So what's your takes on this? I've done a couple of searchs, but this guy sounded confident I'd be on with the base kit.

Ford Blue blood