News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

From fast to ?????

Started by Piperj3, 2013-04-04 20:29

Previous topic - Next topic

Piperj3

Hi, Newbie here. I just bought a 57 fairlane 500 with the 312 engine in great condition and all original. As a matter of fact it's not even here yet. It's coming from Cal. I'd like to keep everything original but would like to know if the factory ever offerd something to give the engine a little more power but still be original. Yes i'm looking for more power and the cars not even here yet. It's kind of funny, I just sold my 1966 Shelby Cobra and now going to a 4dr classic with automatic. I must be getting old !!!  :002:

Thanks guys, I really like your site.
Bob
Wis

57AGIN

Piperj3:

Welcome aboard.  I'm no expert on the Y-block, but from the factory a Paxton/McCullough supercharger could be ordered, also dual quads were available, etc.  They won't turn your 57 into a Shelby Cobra, but they were very respectable combinations back some 50 years ago.  There is also a Y-block web site where all they talk about is the Ford Y-blocks, but there are a lot of good Y-block gurus on this site, too. 

Bob
57 AGIN

lowrider