News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Finally some progress

Started by 4thgen57, 2014-03-10 18:53

Previous topic - Next topic

4thgen57

Finally doing some work. Working on filling in the trim holes in the fenders to go on  my custom. Don't laugh, this is my first attempt at any kind of body work. also stripped the front seat frame. Wife is gonna try to reupholster the front bench and put it back in the car for the first time in 15 years. Any tips/advise on either of these subjects is welcomed. just glad to be back in the garage.

rmk57

The welding process can be a little tricky without warping the panel to much. There's always going to be some dips where the weld has sunk a bit. Try an let the weld cool before starting on the next one. Same with grinding the weld down, try and keep the heat to minimal as possible.
Good luck with your project.

Randy
Randy

1957 Ford Custom
1970 Boss 429

Ecode70D

Like rmk57 stated too much heat can cause the metal to warp.

If you haven't welded much sheet metal, keep the heat down , skip around , and go very slowly.

4thgen57

Ive got the heat as low as it will go. Tacked small pieces of sheet metal on the back of the holes and am working on filling them in. One tack at a time

rmk57

Another way to do it is to flatten out a piece of copper tubing and use a magnet to hold it in place on the back of your fender.
The copper acts as a heat sink and also will not stick to your base metal.
Randy

1957 Ford Custom
1970 Boss 429

Limey57

Eastwood used to do a heat absorbing putty called "Cold front", used it several years ago and did everything it said it would and minimised distortion on a door skin when I welded in a new lower section.
Gary

1957 Ranchero

Limey57

Gary

1957 Ranchero

gasman826