News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Ford AOD transmission

Started by Limey57, 2014-12-29 09:54

Previous topic - Next topic

Limey57

Okay, I've been driving for 28 years and 99% of my cars have been manual, so my auto trans experience is minimal.  My Ranchero came with a good AOD (not AODE) transmission which I'm going to use, but I've got a couple of questions:

Do these transmissions have a neutral safety switch built in, or do I have to use the original 57 Ford one on the end of the steering column?

How do these transmissions work?  Are they simply a 4 speed auto or are they a 3 speed with an overdrive 4th?  If so, how does the overdrive 4th work?

Thanks
Gary

1957 Ranchero

RICH MUISE

Don't know the answer to your question being an AOD but my 4R70W, which is a newer generation tranny originating with the AOD, AODE, has an external multi-function switch, one of the functions being the neutral switch. I would think your AOD also had an external switch....but just a guess.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NOS-1974-89-Ford-Lincoln-Merkur-Neutral-Safety-Switch-/380116612212?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5880b73474&vxp=mtr
That ebay switch, btw, is nothing like the one on later trannys.
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

Capt997

I recently installed an AOD behind a 363 Ford Crate motor in a 66 Mustang we are building for a customer.  The Neutral Safety Switch was internal and the plug sticking out of the left front looked like the plug on the end of the one pictured in the ebay ad.  The only place I found the matching plug was at  Ron Francis Wire Works in PA. 

RICH MUISE

Probably just a matter of definition here. When I think of something "internal", I'm thinking of having to get to the inside of the tranny to remove it.
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

lalessi1