News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

1957 Dual headlights

Started by JDoug, 2015-02-26 12:34

Previous topic - Next topic

JDoug

Hi all...I am new to site and hope I am in the correct forum..  I recently read that Ford produced 8 1957 Fairlanes with dual headlights. does any one know if this is true? Or for what purpose? Or is there any record of VIN's or body types, etc....  Really curious about this since my neighbor has a Ranchero with them...  I do know you can buy conversion kits .. He does not know if original or not...  My project coming this fall is a "survivor" .. '57 Convertible, triple white w/ D code 312.. I am 3rd owner and it has sat in my garage now for 11 years.. Time to get her back on the road

JDoug

Ford Blue blood

Doug, welcome aboard.  Your neighbor might have a 58 Ranchero as they were the same as 57s with 58 front clip and trim.  Never heard of a 57 Fairlane with duals...but then I'm an old bugger and miss a lot of things....
Certfied Ford nut, Bill
2016 F150 XLT Sport
2016 Focus (wife's car)
2008 Shelby GT500
57 Ranchero
36 Chevy 351C/FMX/8"/M II

junior58

Welcome aboard, you have joined the friendliest, most helpful forum that I've ever had the pleasure of joining.
If you have read "Ford produced 8 1957 Fairlanes with dual headlights" on one of the classic car sales sites, then I would not take that as gospel. Looking at that particular car, it is far from stock, with a custom front grille, custom rear bumper treatment, Cadillac style air cleaner and who knows what else. It is possible that the dual headlights in that car may also be a custom addition, possibly from a 58 Ford, or one of the aftermarket dual headlight conversions that were available for them. Unless you can get some form of original documentation proving it was factory fitted, I would question it's validity.
Now that I have said all this, someone way more knowledgeable will come on and prove me wrong, haha.