News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Residual pressure valve on drum/drum boosted car?

Started by Fabulous50s, 2020-05-04 18:07

Previous topic - Next topic

Fabulous50s

Finding all kinds of conflicting information regarding the use of residual pressure valves on cars with the master cylinder in a stock (higher than the wheel cylinders) location. Some say the valves are needed, some say only if master is below brakes, blah blah blah!

I've got all new brakes, lines, wheel cylinders etc. An aftermarket 1-1/8" dual master with 8" dual booster. Are the 10psi valves needed to "take up slack" or "to keep the wheel cylinder cups inflated"?

I was a mechanic for 10 years and all we ever worried about was proportioning valves! Supposedly residual pressure valves are built into factor proportioning valves?

Also, I assume for a drum/drum car no proportioning valve is needed.... there certainly wasn't one from the factory, but we are now over 60 years later and I'd like it to be better than factory.

Thanks for the first hand experience this site offers, with our classics.
Taylor....north of ordinary!

59 Galaxie 500 Town Sedan, 352 2-speed Ford-O-Matic.. changing to 3+O/D Granada Toploader.

RICH MUISE

I may be wrong, but I believe the residual valves are needed on a disc/drum setup, and the proportioning valve (what I've got) is for disc/disc.
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

hiball3985

Residual valve is needed on drum/drum. Residual valve only on rear if front is disc. If you changed to a dual master and be sure it is from a drum/drum car. Or add them inline front and rear.
JIM:
HAPPY HOUR FOR ME IS A GOOD NAP
The universe is made up of electrons, protons, neutrons and morons.
1957 Ranchero
1960 F100 Panel
1966 Mustang

Ford Blue blood