News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

57 custom 300 build

Started by glr7533, 2021-03-07 16:45

Previous topic - Next topic

glr7533

I have followed this forum for about six years. I have only made one other  post in that time about fixing the studs on the eyebrows. I thought I should finally post some about my build.

First I will give you some info about how I got to this point. When I graduated school in 1972 I was to young to get a job so I went to work helping a old guy that owned a junk yard. That summer he got in a 57 Fairlane two door. It didn't have a motor but it did have a title. I got that car for part of my pay. That fall I went to work for that man's son that owned a Gulf service station. That fall a man came in with a 63 Thunderbird that had spun a bearing, but he didn't have the money to fix the engine. It was a 390 with the 3X2 carb set up. My boss made a deal to put a used engine in it in trade for the old engine and carb set up. Of course he got the engine from his dad's junk yard for free.  My boss wanted the intake and carbs and gave me the block. I got the crank turned put in new bearings and used the intake and carb I already had. I got married that fall and family life got in the way so the car was sold.