News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

New to 57 Ford

Started by Jerry Box, 2012-12-29 22:24

Previous topic - Next topic

Jerry Box

I am new to the 57 Ford and just bought one for a project. I would like to put front disc brakes and power steering to start with. Not sure if I should buy Drop'em n Stop'em disc brake kit or buy the the Ford Granada spindles and all the parts myself. Will I save any money or just waste my time buying all the parts myself. What about power rack pinion what rack pinion do I buy. All help will be appreciate it.

57AGIN

Jerry Box:

Welcome to the site and to the world of 57 Fords.  That is a mighty nice looking Custom.  It has been a long time since I saw chrome reverse rims with the baby moons, I think they give the car a great nostalgic look.  If you mount disc brakes, you might end up having to replace the rims.  I think the Granada discs are a bit smaller than most of the others.  They are a single piston design.  I used them on my Custom 300 for about 8 years and the car stopped like a "real" car.  Nostalgia is great, but not where the brakes are concerned, discs make these cars stop like a modern car. IMHO  I recently went to a 2 piston Kelsey Hayes set up front, but am still running the drum brakes on the rear.  Probably going to put on rear discs this Winter though.

Anyway, great looking ride.

Bob
57 AGIN

Frankenstein57

Jerry,  go back to the home page, scroll down to steering and suspension, click on that. You'll find tons of posts on this subject, one of our members, Tom "wildhog" along with his brother have a nice power rack for a steering option. You can do the same on the brake section, or use the search toolbar. Then if you still have questions, post away. I myself have used the torino spindles and an aftermarket power booster, with good results.  Mark

RICH MUISE