News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

rim width

Started by hivolt5.0, 2009-09-06 22:36

Previous topic - Next topic

hivolt5.0

I'm still very new to the '57 Fords and I found something interesting on the Ranchero I recently purchased.  I had the old tires dismounted from the, what I thought to be orginial, rims so I could clean and paint them.  Well, once I got them home I discovered two of the rims are 1/2 inch wider than the other two.  All four rims look exactly the same for all intents and purposes yet two of them are 14x6 and two are 14x6.5.  Did the Ranchero's have two different width rims from the factory or did my Ranchero just "acquire" the different widths through 50 plus years of existence?

Thanks
David

KidKourier

Check www.1957Ford.com, has tons of specs for all models of '57 Fords that may help you with info on your Ranchero. If memory serves me(which it some times doesn't) we use to look for rims off stationwagons,rancheros,couriers for the wider rims to run a little bit wider tireand they looked to have more reverse to them.KID

meteor

Has the car been lowered? Are the narrower 6" rims off the passenger side? I'm just curious because I have an issue with clearance on the passenger rear (tire rubs when the body rolls) and I was told because the axle on that side is slightly longer it may put the wheel closer to the body.

So maybe they put a narrower wheel on that side to compensate...?
check out my site: www.brightworkautoart.com

hivolt5.0

KidKourier - thanks for the info, I'll go check out www.1957Ford.com you mentioned; I think I actually have it book marked somewhere.  I guess it would make sense for the wagons to have some wider rims; they came with heavier duty axels and such too right?