News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

need welding advice

Started by RICH MUISE, 2010-05-22 20:39

Previous topic - Next topic

RICH MUISE

I've done alot of welding on my car but it's all been self taught mig welding. I'm using a 220 harbor freight welder set up for gas. I've gotten pretty good at welding sheetmetal with  good fusion and a minimum of blowthru and buildup, but I've been reluctant to try it for a structural weld such as motor mounts and the like. I've been looking at Lincoln 220 mig welders and one model they claim to be able to weld up to 1/2" thick. Is this feasible? Are any of you guys heavy into fab work using mig welding? I know tig welding is probably what most would recommend, but at this stage if it should be tig or arc welded, I'd probably just bring it to a welder to have it done.
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

canadian_ranchero

what is the output amperage of your welder? what wire size are you using?i have a 140 amp welder and with .030 wire,i have welded 1/4 inch with no problem. 

RICH MUISE

I guess I was asking about mig welding in general rather than my specific welder, which is 120 amps max. I didn't want to invest in a 160 amp mig welder if it's use on stuff like motor mounts wasn't recommended. Sometimes you can get better real-life info from guys that are using them as opposed to the manufactures' info.

JPotter57