News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

460 swap in country sedan (motor mounts)

Started by 57country, 2011-03-09 22:01

Previous topic - Next topic

57country

hello. new to forum have been browising for a while and love the info. I know i read a similar post to my question but was looking for some other info...figured I'd start a new one. First off I'm new to old cars. green as grass lol. getting a 460 and figured I'd do the swap..why not right? my question is about motor and tranny mounts. i know of 3 company's that make the parts i need just looking for a review basically. I cant make my own mounts no welder/experience with fabricating so in the intrest of time i need bolt in. I've read good and bad on crites kits. they seem to take a long time and seem to give people the run around. the other company was dear burn classic...haven't read of anyone with this kit. last was gear head cruiser product. they seem expensive and have read horror stories about their steering box kit. any experience with this company and their other products?    thank you very much for your help and please excuse my limited knowledge on the subject...tried reading as much as i could before posting.  i am a mechanic by the way but am much better with newer cars. (5 years in...still green but if you need help with newer stuff I'll try my best to contribute)

shopratwoody

Welcome to the club :006:
I had good service from Crites and happy with their product.
I used FPA headers for more ground clearance.
Hope this helps.
I hate blocksanding!

57country

Thanks for the welcome and advice!  ps since i'm  swaping out my 312 with 3spd its avaliable if anyone wants it...i'm on li in ny

rmk57

I didn't use their mounts but did use their headers and they fit pretty good. tight around steering box but thats to be expected, 460 is a pretty big big chunk of iron. All the other