News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

towing a holiday trailer

Started by canadian_ranchero, 2015-08-30 11:13

Previous topic - Next topic

canadian_ranchero

does anyone have a idea how big a holiday trailer you can pull behind a country sedan?

Limey57

We always say with a camper/travel trailer to keep the maximum weight of the trailer equal or lower than the curb weight of the tow car.  I know you guys use weight distribution hitches & the like so I guess that needs to be factored into the equation, but we don't use those over here so I have no experience of them.  I will be pulling a 3500lbs trailer with my 57 Ranchero.
Gary

1957 Ranchero

Limey57

I've installed trailer wiring but not installed a hitch on my Ranchero yet, the chances of getting anything other than a bumper-mounted hitch is slim so I'll fabricate my own.  I'm using 2", 1/4" wall thickness box section to run under the back, with brackets at either end picking up on the end of the chassis rails with 3 x 1/2" bolts either side, then one bracket in the middle that will pick up on the existing hole in the rear crossmember (about 5/8" from memory).
Gary

1957 Ranchero

SkylinerRon

A 3500lb trailer will wag the tail of your ranchero. A Reese type hitch w/bars is needed for that trailer or your bumper angle will be waaay down and dangerous.
To see what it will look like put 400lbs on top your hitch ball and see what it does.
Be safe!

Ron.

Limey57