News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Ford engine red

Started by Limey57, 2017-01-22 15:25

Previous topic - Next topic

Limey57

I'm painting my engine & transmission red, but I'm getting conflicting opinions on the right shade. I've done the transmission (see below) but I'm now wondering if it's too orange? Any opinions? I don't want folks thinking I've use C***y engine paint!

Gary

1957 Ranchero

rmk57

Transmissions were not usually painted at all. If you're going for the y-block red, that shade you have there looks way to bright.
Randy

1957 Ford Custom
1970 Boss 429

Limey57

Thanks, the only reason I painted the transmission was because someone else had painted it previously. I've looked on the POR colour chart & the Y block red is darker, should have asked all this before I started painting...... Oh well, time to break out the spray gun again!
Gary

1957 Ranchero

suede57ford

I personally use a color called Rangoon Red, Code J, off a 1965 Ford truck in place of the spray can variations. It is a very attractive red/orange similar to the original color but more vibrant.   I never use spray can paint on engines, as they are one-part paints and re-wet if any fuel or solvent get on them.  I have the paint store mix the Rangoon Red in a single-stage urethane(catalyzed) and spray it through a gun after a coat of epoxy primer.  I realize this is more effort and expense, but the results will be amazing.  With this method the paint will be as durable as the outside paint on your car, and stay fresh looking forever, and make your detailing very professional looking.
57 2dr Sedan, Black,VR57 Supercharged Y-block
57 T-bird, 460 C6
57 Ranchwagon, 5.0 AOD
57 Ranchero, VR57 Supercharged
57 Courier Delivery, 460 C6
57 2dr Sedan, Red/White
69 Mach1 428 R-Code
69 Talladega 428
69 Bronco 5.0
70 Torino Cobra SCJ 4spd,4:30 Drag Pak
34 Ford P.U. 427 Ford, 2-4s
69 Boss 429

Jeff Norwell