News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

57 Country Sedan Wagon - Next step?

Started by Ken 57Wagon, 2021-01-11 15:32

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken 57Wagon

I just acquired a 57 Country Sedan wagon that was someone else's project.  Body work has been mostly completed (new floor pans, new upholstery, rebuilt motor and transmission, etc).  I've never done a Ford before and I'm only a tinkerer.  I'm not sure if I want to put the 312 back in or update to a more modern fuel injected motor.  There seem to be a lot of nuances as I read about this year Ford (brake boosters upgrades are difficult, can't upgrade brakes on a 14" rim,  etc.) and I have become convinced I will probably not do a full restoration, at least not concourse style.  I live in Northern California, Sacramento specifically, and could use someone with a history with these vehicles.  If there is any advice you have on restoring this 57 I am all ears.

Ken

RICH MUISE

Welcome to the forum, Ken. Looks like you got a project with a good solid start on it. You'll get a lot of varied opinions on this forum as to which way you should go, but in the long run, the decisions will be all yours, and for the most part, imho, there is no wrong way to go. A lot depends on what you want from the car. What helped me decide which way to go was going to a bunch of car shows and figuring out what appealed to me the most. That helped me realize I wasn't going to be happy until it was an every nut and bolt restoration. I didn't want to have a car where I kept thinking I should have gone a little deeper. But, that's just me. Now that I've driven mine a ton, I can see the reasoning behind wanting to get it done quicker so it can be driven.