News:

Check out the newsletters posted at our main club site:  http://57fordsforever.com

Main Menu

Brake line sizes

Started by terry_208, 2023-03-11 11:47

Previous topic - Next topic

terry_208

What size brake lines have been used in rebuilding brake systems? What size lines have been used on which systems, disk, drum and disk/drum.

Terry

RICH MUISE

Mine is disc/disc and I used 3/16 NICOP. I probably shouldn't be talking about a safety system like brakes, 'cause I'm not a certified mechanic, or even a very knowledgeable one, but it's my understanding if you go to bigger lines, you may have issues with your master not moving enough volume. It would seem logical that bigger lines would be better, but I'm pretty sure that's not the case.
I can do this, I can do this, I, well, maybe

59meteor

Yes, all the factory brake lines on these old Fords (and most other brands as well), are 3/16" tubing. And like Rich, I made all new brake (and fuel) lines for my 59, with NiCopp tubing. It is so much easier to work with and bend, and makes nicer double flares. A bit more expensive, but IMO, well worth it.
1959 Meteor 2 door sedan , 428 Cobra Jet 4 speed. Been drag racing Fords (mostly FEs) 47 years and counting.
Previous 50s Fords include 57 Custom 4 door, 2 57 Ford Sedan Deliveries, 59  Country Sedan, and as a 9 year old, fell in love with the family 58 2 door Ranch Wagon.

KYBlueOval

NICOPP is VERY easy to work with, you will not be disappointed.
A little more expensive, but well worth the extra cost.
John

mustang6984

Quote from: KYBlueOval on 2023-03-11 15:07NICOPP is VERY easy to work with, you will not be disappointed.
A little more expensive, but well worth the extra cost.
John
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
 :003: A case of "you get what you pay for"...in spades! :003:
Nothing is impossible...
The word it's self says I'M POSSIBLE  (Audrey Hepburn)
2 '57 Ford Couriers AND '57 Fairlane